Top 5 favourite books

I’ll create the list here without the explanation as there will be major spoilers, you can avoid these though by skipping the reviews you wouldn’t like to read. Books are an integral part of my life, they’ve opened up my life to so many new ideas, it was difficult to just choose five.

FAVOURITE BOOKS (IN THE ORDER I READ THEM)

  1. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  2. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron
  3. Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone
  4. The Host by Stephanie Meyer
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix & Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Me for you.jpg

1. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

The book is a first person narrative from the perspective of Louisa Clark, once she is made redundant she struggles to find another job to support her family. Subsequently, she takes a job as a caretaker for Will Traynor a quadriplegic, shortly after she finds out a very troubling secret. Louisa is a riot of colour in Will’s misery, Lou most learn how to care for a quadriplegic, keep a troubling secret, support her family and maintain a relationship with her running mad boyfriend.

This book literally changed my life. My education and the amount of work I put into my school life all became meaningless. What meant so much then meant so little. For around a week after I read it (I finished it in two days) I felt an emotionally numbness, I ached for what I had read and yet everything meant to little to me now. I have yet to read the sequel and although I read Me Before You in June I’ve still not gotten over the pain of it. One of my biggest fears is that I will lead an ordinary life, this book really altered my perception of what an extraordinary life could be. I could talk endlessly about the way this book genuinely changed my life, I wish I could read this book again but for the first time. I loved it so so much.

2. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron

The Shadow of the Wind

The novel is predominantly told in a first person perspective from the main character Daniel’s point of view. The story begins when he is a young boy visiting the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. From the cemetery you may take one book, the book Daniel takes is The Shadow of the Wind by Julian Carax. When visited by the ‘Devil’ Daniel becomes obsessed with learning about the author of the book and the mystery behind it. This book is very much a mystery novel however there are elements from other genre that make it so much more interesting.

It was my English teacher that recommended this book, during one of his lessons he asked me to the front to read the opening page of it, I read it and found it interesting so I kept it on the back-burner. I typically only read romance novels so I was quite dubious reading this. A few months later, on a whim, I bought the book and after reading it I wish I had sooner. The novel is expertly crafted, the sub-plot fits marvelously into the main plot and Zafron’s way with words kept me wanting to read it. The author is Spanish so there are a lot of references to Spanish places  and names however a quick Google search soon solves that problem. The novel is quite slow to begin with but after the first sixty or so pages it becomes incredibly exciting. The ending, yes was predictable, however the reasons behind were not. This book made me feel everything; sadness, happiness, laugher, warmth, cold, love, anger, fear. Everything. I’ve now gone on to buy some of his other books and I hope they are just as brilliant.

3. Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

Time between us

This novel is from the point of view of Anna, a seventeen year old girl living in Chicago in 1995. She meets a seventeen year old boy called Bennett who is from San Francisco in the year 2012. Bennett has a very unique ability which allows the pair to meet. Soon after a devestating secret brings a very harsh reality for both characters. How much further can they really push fate?

I feel like Bennett has stuck with me for all this time, I would love to have the power he does. Bennett was one of those characters that you can’t help but fall in love with. The plot to this book was amazing, I loved every single part of it. Thee sequel to the novel, which is from Bennett’s point of view, is just as lovely. This book is an easy read and a must read, I think about this book a lot and when someone asks me my favourite book, this is the one that comes to mind first.

4.The Host by Stephanie Meyer

The Host

The Host is a sci fi book and focusses on the character Melanie Stryder, who is stubborn, brave and refuses to conformto what she knows it wrong. An alien parasite has taken over the humans on Earth, and has brought many marvelous things but this does not equal their moral coruption. Wanderer is a soul and one of the alien parasites that invade the human bodies as “hosts”. Wanderer has been given Melanie’s body. Most of the ‘former tenants’ completely go away giving the new soul a free reign of the body however some are not so lucky.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.I was lent this book by a friend and I did not want to read it. I tried to find a synopsis online so I wouldn’t have to read it but I was unable to find one so I decided to just read it. I read it in one of the school holidays when I was 13, it has stayed with me ever since. This book is quite long but I found I got through it really quickly because it was so good. This was my only favourite book for a long while until I read Time Between Us, I had read the Twilight Saga but I found this to be much more exciting although I love both. I’m still waiting for the sequel to this book and have been for years. I’m pretty sure I even rewrote one of the scenes for an English project. I feel like this novel is one of the only to actually explore the idea of souls, this is also one of the reasons I love this book.

5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix & Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K Rowling

OofP

A new teacher has come to Hogwarts to fill the cursed post of the defence against the dark art. This teacher happens to be the cruellest yet, Delores Umbridge brings a nasty turn to the historical school of witchcraft and wizardry. As well as this, Harry must find out why his best friends, Ron and Hermione, have been ignoring him. There is also the mystery of where does Dumbledore keep running off to and why is he ignoring Harry? Harry finds out about the order and must create one of his own.

I read the Harry Potter series when I was still in primary school and it is still one of my favourites hundreds of books later. I therefore couldn’t just choose one so this is a duel favourite. The Order of the Phoenix although the longest, is my first favourite. The way J.K Rowling writes the character Delores Umbridge, to evoke such hatred, is magnificent. You hate her as if she were real even though she is not. There are also quite a few sub plots going on; a visit to the ministry of magic, a visit from two Dementors, a new defence against the dark arts teacher and of course the order. This novel was fantastic and made me look at the film in a whole new way.

Harry is waiting, waiting for Dumbledore to visit him at Privet Drive. The last time Harry saw Dumbledore was in a fierce due with You-Know-Who in the Ministry of Magic, but why is Dumbledore visiting him now at Privet Drive got all places. The new school year at Hogwarts is going to start in only a few weeks time, why can’t this wait until then? Strange things are already happening but stranger things are going to happen. More discoveries are yet to be made about the evil Lord Voldemort…

The second is The Half Blood Prince in this novel you find out a lot more about Voldemort and his memories as a

HBP

child through Dumbldore’s pensive. Finding out a lot about Voldemort put a whole new perspective on his character, the character development over the series for Voldemort is extraordinary. In this novel you also hear a lot more from Snape who has always been one of my favourite characters. Both novels are exquisite.

 

So these are my five favourite books and why, in a future post I will do my favourite book series. Be sure to keep reading books, I hope you love them as much as I.

Leave a Reply

