My role model:Emma Watson

What is a role model?

By definition a role model is a person looked to by others as an example to be imitated. However to me a role model is not only this but to someone you can relate to and someone who you’d want as your older sibling or simply someone you just want to impress. Emma epitomises all of these things for me.

How long has Emma been my role model?

Since I first saw the Harry Potter movies when I was little I have loved Hermione Granger, she is my fictional role model and someone I relate to incredibly. I have loved her and grown up with her, she’s taught me so much about what it means to be a warrior. I grew up obsessed with princesses, I even pretended my family were the royal family and I discusses all of the things we should do to make the lives of those around us better. Not because I’m a particularly ‘generous’ person but because that is how I thought you grew up and because that is how I thought princesses acted. When I watched Harry Potter I immediately dropped this idea of waiting for my prince to come and waiting for something princess like to happen to me. I instead picked up the idea of becoming a warrior, Hermione is fearless, smart and beautiful amongst so many other things and I would have given anything to be her, but now that I’m older, have watched the movies, read the books and know Hermione inside out I realise that it is Emma who is Hermione, not just playing the part but she is genuinely the girl I’ve always aspired to be. I’ve since done so much research on Emma and developed my ideas on the world using hers as a door way to get through and have deeply fallen into a great pit of admiration for her. Emma Watson is not someone I want to be, she is someone who I want to grow up like, to have her courage and intelligence in my grasp.

Why is Emma my role model?

a463f5a5-9c60-40b7-82fb-dba43d5c12a8-largeI’ve always struggled to find someone to consistently look up to and I feel like a lot of that is due to not feeling like I could connect to them but Emma is someone I really relate to.

She is intelligent and advocates that girls shouldn’t afraid to be smart because that isn’t what boys find ‘attractive’, she encourages being smart for yourself. Emma, although she is a highly successful actress, chose to educate herself further and attended Brown to gain a degree. It is fairly uncommon for actresses to even go back and continue education especially child stars, the same can be said for Mayim Bialik (Amy Farrah Fowler).

Just months after leaving school Emma joins the He for She Campaign and changes the world. How cool is that? To stand up for you beliefs, despite the death threats, and change the world and society. Gender equality is massive in my life and the fact that Emma represents this also further makes her the most influential person in my life.

Emma also speaks quite liberally on beauty:

“Beauty is the marks life leaves behind on us, all the kicks and the caresses the memories leave us. Beauty is letting yourself live.”

By providing a whole new idea/definition of beauty Emma tells us its okay to have black eyes from lack of sleep and its okay to have scars, embrace them for what they are and who they make you.

Furthermore, Emma designs for and exclusively wears clothing from People Tree Clothing who only use sustainable materials and fair trade products, allowing to provide better lives for those in lesser economically developed countries. By wearing, buying and spreading awareness of these products to her millions of followers allow her to add bucket fulls of love to the world.

Of course there are many other reasons as to why Emma is my role model however I feel like these are the most influential reasons. Think about your role model and what they do.

 

Leave a Reply

