Book Recommendations for every mood

Books are a haven to us all, pick up a book and you can slip into any world you’d like and fall in love with characters and places you’ve never seen. I find books to always be most useful when they fit your particular mood so here are ten moods a couple of book recommendations for each one.

For when you want to read a classic:

Classics are interesting reads, they provide a different kind of story to modern-day fiction, they provide an escape into a totally different world of love and adventure. I haven’t read a great deal of classics but as I get older I find that I appreciate them more.

img_8238Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë – Jane is an orphan coming from nothing, yet she desired everything she can attain from life, upon leaving her dreadful home she finds herself at Thornfield Hall in a peculiar mansion that has a very deep and a very dark secret. At Thornfield, Jane meets her match in the dark Mr Rochester, will Jane choose what is right or what is yearns for? Happiness.

Jane Eyre was the first classic I ever read and is still my favourite to this day. My favourite ever literary quote comes from this novel and I find that the more I read about Jane the more I identify with her, and the more I identify the more I attach to this novel. It isn’t a truly wonderful novel and one you should definitely read if you get the chance.

img_8240Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier –  (Blurb from Goodreads) “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . .” The novel begins in Monte Carlo, where our heroine is swept off her feet by the dashing widower Maxim de Winter and his sudden proposal of marriage. Orphaned and working as a lady’s maid, she can barely believe her luck. It is only when they arrive at his massive country estate that she realizes how large a shadow his late wife will cast over their lives–presenting her with a lingering evil that threatens to destroy their marriage from beyond the grave.

Although I have not read Rebecca I hope to do so soon, this book has been on my to read list for months and I hope I will get round to it a short quickly as I can, I’m recommending this due to how amazing the blurb sounds as well as the fact that this is my nanna’s favourite book, I’m really excited to read this.

 

For when you want to be scared: 

We all like to feel scared sometimes even if it is just to remind us that we still feel. I don’t typically read frightening stories but there are a couple I have definitely loved.


img_8239The Red Room by H.G Wells
– An unnamed narrator spends a night in the allegedly haunted room of a castle, in order to disprove the paranormal controversy surrounding it. Despite all the warnings of those in the castle he accents to the illusive Red Room where fear threatens to pounce.

I loved this story and as it I should a short story I find that it is incredibly good those readers who aren’t as avid but would like to start, I like how quickly you could read this and the message behind the story I found so engaging, it is definitely a story to read to add a little fear to your life.

img_8241The Lord of the Flies by William Golding – A plane crashes on a deserted island leaving a small group of school boys stranded, as the boys begin to form a society to establish control brutal savagery breaks out like a plague.

I didn’t find this book particularly scary, although I did find it rather unnerving, however people have different levels of fear which is why I decided to include it. I really enjoyed this even though I read it for school, I found it to be incredibly interesting due to the questions it asked, anyone would love this easy to read classic but I think it isn’t better for beginners of classics and beginners of horror.

 

For when you want to cry:

Sometimes all you want is a book that is going to break your heart, twist it and make you cry, i got you covered.

Me for youMe Before You by Jojo Moyes – The book is a first person narrative from the perspective of Louisa Clark, once she is made redundant she struggles to find another job to support her family. Subsequently, she takes a job as a caretaker for Will Traynor a quadriplegic, shortly after she finds out a very troubling secret. Louisa is a riot of colour in Will’s misery, Lou most learn how to care for a quadriplegic, keep a troubling secret, support her family and maintain a relationship with her running mad boyfriend.

This book literally changed my life. My education and the amount of work I put into my school life all became meaningless. What meant so much then meant so little. For around a week after I read it (I finished it in two days) I felt an emotionally numbness, I ached for what I had read and yet everything meant to little to me now. I have yet to read the sequel and although I read Me Before You in June I’ve still not gotten over the pain of it. One of my biggest fears is that I will lead an ordinary life, this book really altered my perception of what an extraordinary life could be. I could talk endlessly about the way this book genuinely changed my life, I wish I could read this book again but for the first time. I loved it so so much.img_8243

The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris – Every kiss is a countdown to a goodbye. The love affair of Ryan and Molly is a wonderful story, the first time Ryan kissed Molly she know that they’d be together, thousands of kisses later Molly realises how many kisses were wasted as she counts down the days until they’re torn apart…

You will never expect how much this hurts you. Bring tissues.

 

For when you want to be unnerved:

I love to feel unnerved by books, if a book can freak me out while I read from my safe, warm bed then as far as I’m concerned it’s job well done.

img_8245Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – A horrific family tragedy leaves sixteen year old Jacob travelling to Wales, where he discovers a crumbling house. Jacob explores the abandoned orphanage of Miss Peregrine and realises the children were more that just peculiar. They may be still alive.

First of all the pictures in this book are freaky. It is rare that you get to see photography combined with writing and i love how Riggs created a story around a set of photographs but they were incredibly unnerving and really made me think. For anyone who likes out there things  this is a must.

IMG_8252.JPGSweetly by Jackson Pearce – Gretchen and Ansel’s sister was taken from them by a witch hiding in the woods, years later when they are cast out by their wicked stepmother they find themselves living in Live Oak. They soon meet the beautiful Sophia Kelly, the candy maker and are invited to live with her. As their life becomes more and more idyllic Gretchen meets outcast Samuel who shatters her illusion that the witch is gone. The witch comes at the annual Live Oak chocolate festival and this year Gretchen is next.

I love fairy tales, and I especially love books retold following the same idea of a fairytale, this book is amazing from beginning to end, out of all the retold stories I read this one first. I have since read all of Jackson Pearce’s books and this one is still my favourite. This is the book you’re reminded of when you just want a story that is a little scary, a little romancy and a little mystery.

For when you want to have you heart warmed:

It is always important, when you feel down, to have your heart warmed up. I feel like these two books are the sit in front of the fire books too which makes it all the more heart warming.

img_8250Night Owls by Jenn Bennett – Beatrix Adams knows exactly who she is and exactly what she wants to do. Determined to follow in Da Vinci’s footsteps she wants to sketch the dead. Getting an advantage in a museum sponsored scholarship contest is vital. But when she tried to sneak her way into the hospital and misses the last train her life is turned upside down upon meeting a boy on the Night Owls bus. Jack has secrets, will his skeletons tear them apart or will Beatrix uncover who he really is?

I adore this book so much, it just warms the heart so beautifully, my favourite scene in this was the chinese scence, so you’ll just have to read it to know what I mean.


img_8251A Lit
tle Something Different by Sandy Hall – Lea and Gabe are just meant to be together, everyone knows it but them. They are in the same creative writing class, they get the same pop culture references, order the exact same chinese food and seem to always be in the same places. Lea is reserved. Gabe has issues. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together, the bus driver, the baristas, the squirrel, the bench, the waitress, the delivery guy, his best friend and her roommate, yet they still aren’t together.

This story is especially funny, I love how the story is told entirely from the points of view of other people, her out of the box thinking really makes this story. I like to read this when I am sad, it instantly makes me feel better and bonus you can read it in a day.

 

For when you want to be happy: 

Sometimes you’re sad and that’s okay I get it but sometimes you need to be happy, so here are two of my favourite books to make me happy.

img_8249Withering Tights by Louise Rennison – Tallulah Casey attends a performing arts college up north, leaving her family. Expecting to stay in a dorm she ends up staying with one of the villagers ‘Dibdobs’, her husband and two twins. On the whole it isn’t quite as exciting as Tallulah was hoping, she soon finds friends in the tree sisters. Especially when the boys arrive…

READ THIS WHEN YOU ARE SAD. I cannot emphasise enough how funny this book is. It is aimed at slightly younger readers but nevertheless, you’ll still relate to Tallulah’s hilarious character and adore her, just as I have done for years.

img_8248The Duff by Kody Keplinger – Bianca isn’t like her best friends Jess and Casey, she knows that but when she finds out that the whole school has been calling her the DUFF – Designated ugly, fat friend – Bianca enlists the help of man-whore Wesley Rush and whats more it’s a bonus that she hates Wesley that way she won’t accidentally fall for him. Wrong, it turns out Wesley has way more depth to him than anyone ever knew.

Okay I would totally fall for Wesley too, I love that he has depth and I love it when he opens up to Bianca, you see so much more in the high school jock than you ever thought you could.

 

For when you want to laugh:

Laughter is what makes the world go round, novels that evoke laughter have a special place in my heart a soul do these two.

img_8246Here’s Looking At You by Mhairi Mcfarlane – What happens when the last person you wanted to see turns out to be the only person you need. Aureliana hated high school and fifteen years later she is back at her reunion. Now that she is older she wants to put the past behind her, face up to the bullies who made high school Hell. It also helps that she now has luscious curves and fantastic hair and of course no one recognises her. Losing her never she slinks away, now her path keeps crossing with James, the old high school jock and her major school crush. Now she hates him, of course his beautiful exterior hides an ugly interior yet their path keeps meeting. Their love/hate relationship continues until something changes…

Love this book! Now that I think about it I don’t know why it isn’t one of my favourites. This is a definite must read, I couldn’t remember the loudest I ever laughed at a book until I remembered this one.

img_8247The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern – One, Jasmine loves her sister. Two, Jasmine has only ever been good at one thing – her job. Now that’s gone and she’s stuck on gardening leave for twelve months. Nothing else can fill Jasmine’s life. She’s never had time for the neighbours and her insomnia has her staring out of her bedroom window, watching the person she hates. Matt likes booze. He has also lost his job after one of his controversial chat shows went way too far. Matt hates Jasmine. Over the course of a year the unlikely pair are forced to think again, they might also need to apologise to a few neighbours.

This book is a good one to get into adult chick-flick with, I love how this book made me laugh. It also made me realise how fine the line is between love and hate. I would have loved to be friends with Jasmine and Matt and accompany them on their midnight escapades…

 

For when you want something out of this world:

Sci-fi is an amazing genre and I love how each one brings something new to the table, these are two of my favourites.

The HostThe Host by Stephanie Meyer – The Host is a sci fi book and focusses on the character Melanie Stryder, who is stubborn, brave and refuses to conform to what she knows it wrong. An alien parasite has taken over the humans on Earth, and has brought many marvelous things but this does not equal their moral corruption. Wanderer is a soul and one of the alien parasites that invade the human bodies as “hosts”. Wanderer has been given Melanie’s body. Most of the ‘former tenants’ completely go away giving the new soul a free reign of the body however some are not so lucky.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.I was lent this book by a friend and I did not want to read it. I tried to find a synopsis online so I wouldn’t have to read it but I was unable to find one so I decided to just read it. I read it in one of the school holidays when I was 13, it has stayed with me ever since. This book is quite long but I found I got through it really quickly because it was so good. This was my only favourite book for a long while until I read Time Between Us, I had read the Twilight Saga but I found this to be much more exciting although I love both. I’m still waiting for the sequel to this book and have been for years. I’m pretty sure I even rewrote one of the scenes for an English project. I feel like this novel is one of the only to actually explore the idea of souls, this is also one of the reasons I love this book.

img_8244Across the Universes by Beth Revis – Seventeen year old Amy joins her parents aboard Godspeed as frozen cargo on their way to a new planet. They are set to wake three hundred years in the future yet woken fifty years too soon Amy must adapt to her new, lonely life on board. Once Amy discovers someone tried to kill her she must solve the hidden secrets of Godspeed or her parents will be next.

I really liked how this book developed and I thought the characterisation was especially good, I found myself rather emotionally involved with the characters and overall I really enjoyed it.

 

For when you want to fall in love:

Epic love stories are a must especially if you want to fall in love with the book, luckily I am well experienced in the field of romance novels.

Time between usTime Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone – This novel is from the point of view of Anna, a seventeen year old girl living in Chicago in 1995. She meets a seventeen year old boy called Bennett who is from San Francisco in the year 2012. Bennett has a very unique ability which allows the pair to meet. Soon after a devastating secret brings a very harsh reality for both characters. How much further can they really push fate?

I feel like Bennett has stuck with me for all this time, I would love to have the power he does. Bennett was one of those characters that you can’t help but fall in love with. The plot to this book was amazing, I loved every single part of it. Thee sequel to the novel, which is from Bennett’s point of view, is just as lovely. This book is an easy read and a must read, I think about this book a lot and when someone asks me my favourite book, this is the one that comes to mind first.

22561320Velvet by Temple West – What is the first rule of dealing with a vampire bodyguard? Oh yeah don’t fall in love. Aspiring fashion designer Caitlin lost both her parents before the age of seventeen and her world turned upside down. Oh yeah that was before Adrian, half demon, hot bad boy vampire saved her life. With his crazy demon dad after Caitlin Adrian pretends to be her boyfriend to save her but Caitlin is falling for real. Problem is Adrian can never love a human, he’s meant to protect her but can he protect her heart?

I’m not sure why I feel so drawn to this book but it was exactly the kind of story that I love, I’ve been waiting for months and months for the sequel. I feel such a deep connection, it was like Temple West looked into my brain and wrote the story for me, I cannot fathom how in love I fell with it.

 

For when you want to feel everything: 

I love it when a book can make me laugh, cry, feel happy, scared and every emotion under the sun. I want to feel like I’m part of the story, like I am in this world, so here are two of my favourites.

img_8242Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James – Literature student Anastasia Steele interviews the young entrepreneur Christian Grey, the tall, dark and handsome stranger captivates the attention of an innocent Ana who is desperate to start a relationships with him. Unable to resist her too, Grey admits to wanting Ana but only on terms suitable to him.

I know, I know what you’re going to say but it’s important that you understand this book isn’t just about sex. Yes there are sex scenes and I think it’s brave that she had the guts to write about scenes so intimate we all imagine happen with our favourite characters anyway. This book has such a fantastic story to it and I would recommend the trilogy, not just this book forever, I adore it.

The Shadow of the WindThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron – The novel is predominantly told in a first person perspective from the main character Daniel’s point of view. The story begins when he is a young boy visiting the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. From the cemetery you may take one book, the book Daniel takes is The Shadow of the Wind by Julian Carax. When visited by the ‘Devil’ Daniel becomes obsessed with learning about the author of the book and the mystery behind it. This book is very much a mystery novel however there are elements from other genre that make it so much more interesting.

It was my English teacher that recommended this book, during one of his lessons he asked me to the front to read the opening page of it, I read it and found it interesting so I kept it on the back-burner. I typically only read romance novels so I was quite dubious reading this. A few months later, on a whim, I bought the book and after reading it I wish I had sooner. The novel is expertly crafted, the sub-plot fits marvelously into the main plot and Zafron’s way with words kept me wanting to read it. The author is Spanish so there are a lot of references to Spanish places and names however a quick Google search soon solves that problem. The novel is quite slow to begin with but after the first sixty or so pages it becomes incredibly exciting. The ending, yes was predictable, however the reasons behind were not. This book made me feel everything; sadness, happiness, laugher, warmth, cold, love, anger, fear. Everything. I’ve now gone on to buy some of his other books and I hope they are just as brilliant.

Thank you so much for reading, a lot of time and effort went into this post and I’m super happy with it, I hope you enjoyed it. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

